Zambian-born rapper Sampa The Great followed recent single "Final Form" with "OMG," and revealed that both will appear on her debut album, The Return, due September 13 via Ninja Tune. The album was mixed by Jonwayne, MsM, and Andrei Eremin, features beats by slowthai producer Kwes Darko, Clever Austin (Perrin Moss of Hiatus Kiayote), and more, and guest appearances from Whosane, Mandarin Dreams, Sunburnt Soul Choir, and more. "OMG" comes with a video shot between South African and Botswana, where Sampa was raised, and it involves her parents. She says, "I got to do something that I’ve never done before, which is to have my parents in one of my music videos. This is the first time they have been involved in my music at this level and it was important for me to express accepting and flexing my culture with the two people who know me most!" The song strikes a balance between US hip hop and African polyrhythms, and if I had to compare it to something, it reminds me a little of Leikeli47. But really, Sampa is a force of her own and this song and video proves that. Watch/listen below.

Sampa is playing London with Sons of Kemet this weekend, and then coming to the US for three shows. She headlines Brooklyn's Elsewhere Zone One on July 18 with support from Jelani Sei (tickets), opens Burna Boy's free BRIC Celebrate Brooklyn! Festival show in Prospect Park on July 19, and headlines LA's Gold Diggers on July 22 (tickets). All dates are listed below.

Meanwhile, Burna Boy just announced that his new album African Giant will be out July 26 via Atlantic.

Sampa the Great The Return

1. Mwana (feat. Mwanje Tembo, Theresa Mutale Tembo, Sunburnt Soul Choir)
2. Freedom
3. Wake Up (Interlude)
4. Time’s Up (feat. Krown)
5. Grass Is Greener
6. Dare To Fly (feat. Ecca Vandal)
7. Any Day (feat. Whosane)
8. OMG
9. Light It Up (Interlude)
10. Final Form
11. Heaven (feat. Whosane)
12. Diamond In The Ruff (feat. Thando, Krown)
13. Leading Us Home
14. Summer (feat. Steam Down)
15. Brand New (feat. SILENTJAY)
16. Give Love (Interlude)
17. The Return (feat. Thando, Jace XL, Alien, Whosane)
18. Don’t Give Up (feat. Mandarin Dreams)
19. Made Us Better (feat. Blue Lab Beats, Boadi, Lori)

Sampa The Great -- 2019 Tour Dates
13 Jul - Somerset House - London, UK w/ Sons of Kemet
18 Jul - Elsewhere: Zone One - New York, USA
19 Jul - BRIC Celebrate Brooklyn Festival - New York, USA w/ Burna Boy
22 Jul - Gold Diggers - Los Angeles, USA
3 Oct - Byron Bay Brewery - Byron Bay, AU
4 Oct - Calounrdra Music Festival - Sunshine Coast, AU
5 Oct - Wooly Mammoth - Brisbane, AU
11 Oct - Meow - Wellingston, NZ
12 Oct - Hollywood Theatre - Auckland, NZ
18 Oct - TBA - Melbourne, AU
19 Oct - Stonefest Festival - Canberra, AU
24 Oct - Republic Bar - Hobart, AU
25 Oct - Fat Controller - Adelaide, AU
26 Oct - Freo.Social - Perth, AU
31 Oct - Factory Theatre - Sydney, AU
2 Nov - Lost Lands Festival - Melbourne, AU
15 Nov - Belgrave Music Hall - Leeds, UK
16 Nov - HY-Brasil Music Club - Bristol, UK
17 Nov - YES - Manchester, UK
20 Nov - XOYO - London, UK
21 Nov - Point Ephemere - Paris, FR
22 Nov - Bitterzoet - Amsterdam, NL
24 Nov - Ancienne Belgique - Brussels, BE
25 Nov - Reineke Fuchs - Cologne, DE
26 Nov - Exil - Zurich, CH
28 Nov - Bi Nuu - Berlin, DE

More From Brooklyn Vegan