Screaming Females and Noun singer/guitarist Marissa Paternoster has now announced her first-ever solo album, Peace Meter, which comes out December 3 via Don Giovanni (pre-order). The announcement reads:

Marissa Paternoster began writing "Peace Meter" immediately after arriving home from a west coast tour cut short due to COVID. Alone in her deceased Grandmother's empty home, Paternoster sent the skeleton of a song to Andy Gibbs from the metal band THOU with the hopes that he might be able to extrapolate on the original idea. Andy sent his accompaniment back, and that process continued for the bulk of the first wave of quarantine.

As the songs developed, Paternoster decided to include two other musicians whom she admired: long time friend Shanna Polley of the NYC-based band Snakeskin on backup vocals, and the cellist Kate Wakefield from the Cincinnati-based band Lung. All parties recorded their parts within their respective homes. Once the songs seemed fully realized, they were mixed by Eric Bennett, one of Marissa's oldest friends and closest collaborators, who was also quarantined at home alongside his mixing studio.

This LP is the final project of that collaboration, between four US states, a year of isolation, panic, and uncertainty - all the while never writing together in the flesh.

The first single is "White Dove," which finds Marissa going in kind of a psychedelic folk direction, to great effect. It's a far cry from Screaming Females, but her voice is as unmistakable as ever. Listen and watch the Joe Steinhardt-directed video below.

Screaming Females also have an upcoming tour, including two sold-out NYC shows this month, and they do their annual Garden Party at NJ's White Eagle Hall on February 12 with Mannequin Pussy, Oceanator, and Sensual World (tickets).

1. White Dove
2. Black Hole
3. I Lost You
4. Sore
5. Balance Beam
6. Shame
7. Waste
8. Running
9. Promise

More From Brooklyn Vegan