Serge Gainsbourg - Various Artist - Monsieur Gainsbourg Revisited, 2006

Monsieur Gainsbourg Revisited comes out on February 27, 2006.

"Franz Ferdinand, Jane Birkin, Marianne Faithfull, Placebo, Carla Bruni, Portishead, Jarvis Cocker, Kid Loco, Françoise Hardy, Keith Flint, Cat Power, Michaël Stipe, Tricky, The Kills, Gonzales, Feist, Dani, The Rakes….All take part in the singular album of which it is a question here.

The bet was serious: to bring together artists resulting from the international scene to interpret English adaptations of the songs of Serge Gainsbourg. The casting and the various finally joined together versions exceed the hopes..." [joelearou]

Track list below...

01. A Song For Sorry Angel - Franz Ferdinand and Jane Birkin
02. I Love You (Me Either) - Cat Power and Karen Elson
03. I Just Came To Tell You That I'm Going - Jarvis Cocker and Kid Loco
04. Requiem For Anna - Portishead
05. Requiem For A Jerk - Faultline, Brian Molko and Franciose Hardy
06. L'Hotel - Michael Stipe
07. Au Revoir Emmanuelle - Tricky
08. Lola R. For Ever - Marianne Faithful and Sly and Robbie
09. Boomerang 2005 - Gonzales, Feist and Dani
10. Boy Toy - Marc Almond and Trash Palace
11. The Ballad Of Melody Nelson - Placebo
12. Just A Man With A Job - The Rakes
13. I Call It Art - The Kills
14. Those Little Things - Carla Bruni

more story @ CMJ

More From Brooklyn Vegan