It's official: David Berman of Silver Jews really does have a new project called Purple Mountains and he's just released his first single under that name which is his first new music since 2008. As to Pitchfork notes,  it's titled "All My Happiness is Gone" and is currently only available on vinyl in actual brick-and-mortar record stores. The song features Anna St. Louis, along with Woods members Jeremy Earl, Jarvis Taveniere, Kyle Forester and Aaron Neveu, and there are remixes by Noah Count, and Mark Nevers (ft. Dave Cloud). A poster for the single, as shared by Lawrence, Kansas record store Love Garden Sounds, says "the full album is still a couple months away: Until then, we've made this to bring people into your stores -- so please don't sell them online. Sell them -- 'They-O-A-They-O' -- instead. We want people in your store on non-RSD Days too!" So call your local record store and ask if they've got it.

That's the font cover of the single above, and you can check out the back of the sleeve, and that poster, below. Stay tuned for more Purple Mountains news.


More From Brooklyn Vegan