Chicago's Slow Mass debuted back in 2016 with the Treasure Pains EP and now they're set to release their first full-length, On Watch, on May 11 via Landland. They underwent a lineup change during the making of the album, with drummer Josh Sparks (also of Into It Over It, Damiera, etc) leaving to join Minus the Bear and being replaced by Dave Maruzzella, who ended up contributing to "Schemes" on the new album. (Josh Sparks is still on six of the 13 songs on the album.)

So far, three songs from the album are out, "Blocks," "Schemes," and "Oldest Youngest," and all three are pretty different. With two singers, the shouty Dave Collis and the more ethereal Mercedes Webb, Slow Mass can pull off a nice variety of sounds and can't easily be pigeonholed. "Schemes" hearkens back to mathy '90s post-hardcore, while "Oldest Youngest" is a slower, atmospheric song, and "Blocks" sorta finds the middle ground between those two. Listen to all three below.

Slow Mass are also touring in May and June, including a Northeast run with Ovlov that hits NYC's Trans-Pecos on June 14 with Maneka on the bill too (tickets). All dates are listed below.

Slow Mass

1. On Watch I
2. Gray Havens
3. Blocks
4. Suburban Yellow
5. My Violent Years
6. Oldest Youngest
7. On Watch II
8. E.D.
9. The Author
10. Tunnel Vision Quest
11. Like Dead Skin
12. Schemes
13. Gs End

Slow Mass -- 2018 Tour Dates
5/18 Chicago, IL @ Schubas (Record Release)
6/10 Detroit, MI @ PJ’s Lager House $
6/11 Toronto, ON @ Handlebar
6/12 Montreal, QC @ L’Esco
6/13 Boston, MA @ Elks Lodge #
6/14 New York, NY @ Trans Pecos #
6/15 Philadelphia, PA @ First Unitarian Church #
6/16 Washington, DC @ Hole in the Sky
6/17 Pittsburgh, PA @ Gooski’s %*
6/18 Cleveland, OH @ Mahall’s Locker Room %
6/19 Grand Rapids, MI @ Pyramid Scheme %

$ w/ Bars of Gold
# w/ Ovlov
% w/ The Reptilian
* w/ Edhochuli

More From Brooklyn Vegan