UK rapper slowthai released his new single "Peace of Mind" earlier this year and mentioned his proper debut album Nothing Great About Britain would be out at some point in 2019. Now he has released another single, "Gorgeous," and revealed that the album is coming May 17 via True Panther/Method Records. The album also includes slowthai's recent single with Mura Masa, "Doorman," plus production by Kwes and Slaves and features from Skepta and Jaykae. As you may have guessed from the album title, the album is about slowthai's frustrations with his home country, from the political (like Brexit) to the personal. He explains:

It's basically my experience of growing up [in the UK]; of having a family that were immigrants originally, of the stories they've told me, of my childhood and how I've lived my life. Through it, I've gone on a journey of explaining how everything I was chasing to make me feel good only clouded my judgement. And it took me going through a ton of shit to realise that none of these things - no money, no drugs, no fake relationships - is gonna make me happy, or make me a good person.

"Gorgeous" is another promising taste of the album, with a looped piano and vocal sample that sounds like something Kanye might've produced in the early 2000s, and a raw, impassioned performance by slowthai. Listen, along with the videos for "Doorman" and "Peace of Mind" and the full tracklist, below.

As mentioned, slowthai has two US shows coming up: LA's Echo on 6/19 and NYC's Elsewhere Zone One on 6/21. He's also playing Primavera Sound, Glastonbury, Parklife, and other UK/EU dates.

1. Nothing Great About Britain
2. Doorman
3. Dead Leaves
4. Gorgeous
5. Crack
6. Grow Up feat. Jaykae
7. Inglorious feat. Skepta
8. Toaster
9. Peace of Mind
10. Missing
11. Northampton's Child


More From Brooklyn Vegan