Sonny & the Sunsets will release a new album, Moods Baby Moods, on May 27 via Polyvinyl. It was produced by tUnE-yArDs' Merrill Garbus resulting in an album that sounds unlike any previous Sunsets LP, drawing influences from early '80s new wave and funk. The record's first single is the provocatively titled "Well But Strangely Hung Man" and you can stream it below.

You can also watch an album announce video that features Sonny and bassist Shayde Sartin fielding questions at a funny, phony press conference (look for Merrill in a cameo).

Sonny & the Sunsets only current upcoming date is the L.A. edition of Force Field PR's 10th Anniversary party which happens this Saturday (3/11) at Echoplex.


Sonny & the Sunsets Moods Baby Moods

Sonny & the Sunsets - Moods Baby Moods tracklist
1 Death Cream part 2 "Watch Out for the Cream" (2:22)
2 Moods (3:35)
3 Modern Age (5:19)
4 Well But Strangely Hung Man (4:17)
5 Nightmares (3:09)
6 Reject of the Lowest Planet (2:39)
7 White Cops on Trial (2:52)
8 Check Out (4:10)
9 Needs (2:35)
10 My Little Death (2:47)
11 Dead Meat on the Beach (3:29)
12 The Hospital Grounds at Night (4:17)

More From Brooklyn Vegan