Sound of Ceres released The Twin last year, a record that was produced by Jonsi collaborator Alex Somers. Before working with Somers, though, the group had made a complete version of the album on their own, and that original version is now coming out as The Twin: Demonstration Tape on cassette and digitally on Friday (7/27) via Joyful Noise. Say the group, "The resemblance is clear, yet the two versions remain distinct in their tracklistings, song arrangements, instrumentation, post-production, and subtlety of mood and color. Find your inner twin, the promise of your own yesterday, within these reels." We've got the premiere of "Rhatikon Chain" from Demonstration Tape and you can stream that, and the radically different version of the song that ended up on The Twin, below.

You can catch Sound of Ceres opening for Beach House on West Coast dates of their tour in August. After that the group return to Brooklyn for another residency at Alphaville on September 7, 14 & 21. The 9/7 show is with director, musician and choreographer Sarah Kinlaw, the 9/14 show is with composer Avi Amon, and the 9/21 show will features a "special guest" TBA. Tickets for the Alphaville shows are on sale now.

Beach House, meanwhile, have NYC shows at United Palace on 8/22 (tickets) and Kings Theatre on 8/23 (sold out), both with Papercuts opening.

04 Aug Hollywood Forever Cemetery, Los Angeles (CA) ^
05 Aug The Observatory North Park, San Diego (CA) ^
07 Aug Fox Theater, Oakland (CA) ^
08 Aug Fox Theater, Oakland (CA) ^
10 Aug Keller Auditorium, Portland (OR) ^
12 Aug Orpheum Theatre, Vancouver (CAN) ^
14 Aug The Depot, Salt Lake City (UT) ^
15 Aug Ogden Theater, Denver (CO) ^
07 Sept Alphaville, Brooklyn (NY)
14 Sept Alphaville, Brooklyn (NY)
21 Sept Alphaville, Brooklyn (NY)

^w/ Beach House

More From Brooklyn Vegan