Sparta released their first album in fourteen years, Trust the River, back in April. Their tour supporting it has of course been put on hold amid the pandemic, but now they've announced three virtual release shows instead. They'll happen on Friday, June 12 and Saturday, June 13 in three different time zones: 6/12 at 8 PM CEST (2 PM EST) for viewers in Europe (tickets), 6/12 at 10 PM EST for viewers in North America (tickets), and 6/13 at 3 PM AEST (1 AM EST) for Japan, Australia, and New Zealand (tickets).

A portion of proceeds from ticket sales will go to El Paso Community Foundation and Black Lives Matter, and here's what the band's Jim Ward has to say about the shows:

I’m excited to play these songs in this format for everyone. We’ve been trying to find a way to connect and celebrate and thank everyone for their overwhelming support on the release of this record while staying safe, and this seems like the ideal space and moment. Me and at least one guitar, playing three shows to cover as many time zones as I can in one day. In my mind I’ll be picturing all these cities I miss being in and all those faces I look forward to seeing again. We’ll record these shows and send a link to each ticket buyer to get a mixed/mastered version of the songs I play- grab a drink and come hang out, and sing along. I miss you all!

As to what else Jim has been up to lately, in April he told us how he's been occupying himself "in this bat shit crazy time" of COVID-19.

For ever more things to watch from home, check out our daily livestream roundups.

Check out pictures from Sparta's 2018 reunion show at Bowery Ballroom in the gallery below.