St. Vincent has been doing a few different types of performances of the songs on her excellent 2017 album MASSEDUCTION, and one of the ways has been stripped down piano versions of the songs with Thomas Bartlett (aka Doveman), who also played piano on the album. St. Vincent and Thomas Bartlett also recorded a stripped-down, version of the album while they were mixing MASSEDUCTION, and now they've announced that they'll release that version of the album too. It's called MassEducation, and it comes out October 12 via Loma Vista. It includes the recently released "Slow Slow Disco," as well as the just-released version of "Savior." Listen to both and check out the tracklist (which is in a different order than MASSEDUCTION) below.

St. Vincent also shared a handwritten note about the album, which reads in part:

We neither rehearse nor spoke about how to approach any song, but rather, played two to three live takes, picked the best one, and trusted in the feeling of the moment. So here it is—two dear friends playing songs together with the kind of secret understanding one can only get through endless nights in New York City. Enjoy.

You can read the full note below.

St. Vincent and Thomas Bartlett just did another one of their stripped-down shows in LA last night (10/2), and St. Vincent's tour continues in Austin this weekend for ACL Fest and an ACL night show. She then plays two Mexico festivals and then returns to LA for a full-band show later this month. All dates and tickets here.

01 Slow Disco
02 Savior
03 Masseduction
04 Sugarboy
05 Fear the Future
06 Smoking Section
07 Los Ageless
08 New York
09 Young Lover
10 Happy Birthday, Johnny
11 Pills
12 Hang On Me

St Vincent

More From Brooklyn Vegan