Stereolab have announced details of their next batch of vinyl reissues which include what are generally regarded to be their two best albums. 1996's Emperor Tomato Ketchup, 1997's Dots & Loops and 1999's Cobra and Phases Group Play Voltage in the Milky Night will be reissued on September 13 via Warp/Duophonic UHF Disks. All three will be triple-disc sets, remastered from the original tapes, with the third disc on each being a collection of alternate mixes, demos and rarities. There are also limited edition Duophonic pressings on clear vinyl, with hand-numbered obi strips made from 2" 24 track Stereolab master tape. Pre-orders are available.

In the mid-to-late '90s, the band were really firing on all cylinders, and on Emperor Tomato Ketchup, the melding of the loud, droney, motorik sound of their early records with easy listening, tropicalia, '60s French pop and jazz -- aided by The High Llamas' Sean O'Hagan who was a semi-official member at this point -- seemed effortless. For Dots and Loops, Stereolab worked with Tortoise's Jim O'Rourke (and with Pro-Tools for the first time), incorporating jungle/drum'n'bass rhythms into their sonic palette for the band's most lush, modern record to date. (It's this writer's favorite.) It would be hard to top those two albums and if Cobra Phases seemed like a bit of an overstuffed letdown at the time, it has aged pretty well.

The band have shared "Freestyle Dumpling," an outtake from the Emperor Tomato Ketchup sessions that until now had only seen release as part of a bonus 7" with the Japanese edition of their Aluminum Tunes rarities collection. Stream that, and check out the tracklists of the reissues below.

Stereolab play Pitchfork Festival this month and then bring their reunion tour to North America in September which includes two sold-out NYC shows at Brooklyn Steel.

Emperor Tomato Ketchup tracklist:
1. Metronomic Underground
2. Cybele's Reverie
3. Percolator
4. Les Yper Sound
5. Spark Plug
6. OLV 26
7. The Noise of Carpet
8. Tomorrow Is Already Here
9. Emperor Tomato Ketchup
10. Monstre Sacre
11. Motoroller Scalatron
12. Slow Fast Hazel
13. Anonymous Collective
14. Freestyle Dumpling
15. Noise of Carpet (Original Mix)
16. Old Lungs
17. Percolator (Original Mix)
18. Cybele's Reverie (Demo)
19. Spark Plug (Demo)
20. Spinal Column (Demo)
21. Emperor Tomato Ketchup (Demo)
22. Les Yper Sound (Demo)
23. Metronomic Underground (Demo)
24. Percolator (Demo)
25. Tomorrow Is Already Here (Demo)
26. Brigitte (Demo)
27. Motorola Scalatron (Demo)
28. Anonymous Collective (Demo)


Dots & Loops tracklist:
1. Brakhage
2. Miss Modular
3. The Flower Called Nowhere
4. Diagonals
5. Prisoner of Mars
6. Rainbo Conversation
7. Refractions in the Plastic Pulse
8. Parsec
9. Ticker-Tape of the Unconscious
10. Contronatura
11. Diagonals (Bode Drums)
12. Contranatura Pt. 2 (Instrumental)
13. Brakhage (Instrumental)
14. The Flower Called Nowhere (Instrumental)
15. Bonus Beats
16. Diagonals (Instrumental)
17. Contranatura (Demo)
18. Allures (Demo)
19. Refractions in the Plastic Pulse (Demo)
20. I Feel the Air (Demo)
21. Off On (Demo)
22. Incredible He Woman (Demo)
23. Miss Modular (Demo)
24. Untitled in Dusseldorf (Demo)


Cobra and Phases Group Play Voltage in the Milky Night tracklist:
1. Fuses
2. People Do It All the Time
3. The Free Design
4. Blips, Drips and Strips
5. Italian Shoes Continuum
6. Infinity Girl
7. The Spiracles
8. Op Hop Detonation
9. Puncture in the Radax Permutation
10. Velvet Water
11. Blue Milk
12. Caleidoscopic Gaze
13. Strobo Acceleration
14. The Emergency Kisses
15. Come and Play in the Milky Night
16. Galaxidion
17. With Friends like These Pt. 2
18. Backwards Shug
19. Continuum (Unreleased Original Version)
20. Continuum Vocodered (Unreleased)
21. People Do It All the Time (Demo)
22. Op Hop Detonation (Demo)
23. The Spiracles (Demo)
24. Latin Cobra Coda (Demo)
25. Infinity Girl (Demo)
26. Blips, Drips and Strips (Demo)
27. Blue Milk (Demo)
28. Italian Shoes Continuum (Demo)
29. Come and Play in the Milky Night (Demo)
30. Strobo Acceleration (Demo)
31. Caleidoscopic Gaze (Demo)
32. Galaxidion (Demo)