In Cold Blood originally hailed from the same Cleveland metallic hardcore scene as Integrity and Ringworm (and frontman Blaze Tishko has played in both of those bands), and they put out their now-classic 1998 debut Hell On Earth on Victory Records before going into hibernation. They resurfaced over the years, and put out the Suicide King compilation in 2009, and now they're set to release their first new full-length album in over 20 years, Legion of Angels, on August 23 via Fast Break! Records (pre-order). We recently posted lead single "No More Lies," and we've now got the premiere of second single "Slipping Into Senility." It's a nearly seven-minute song that takes the sludgy metallic hardcore that they're best known for and injects it with a little eerie psychedelia. It's the sound of a band not just coming back to relive their glory days, but to take a step forward. As for the message behind the song, Blaze tells us:

I wrote the lyrics about my grandmother’s descent into dementia. I never knew my father and my mother made some decisions that pushed her children away but my grandmother was everything to me. She was my rock and to see my rock dissipate in front of me was a tough pill to swallow.

Listen below.

In Cold Blood recently wrapped up some shows with All Out War, and they're now gearing up for a late August/early September run with Philly's Fixation and Milwaukee's Low End.

The newly-added dates include a Brooklyn show on September 1 at The Kingsland (tickets). All dates are listed below.

1. Dark Visions
2. The Wretched Souls
3. No More Lies
4. Slipping Into Senility
5. Reaper
6. In Trance
7. So Many Heavens
8. Omega
9. Hell Hallow

In Cold Blood / Fixation / Low End -- 2019 Tour Dates
8/28 Gary, Indiana @ The D
8/29 Cincinnati, OH @ Northside Yacht Club
8/30 Albany, NY @ Fuzebox
8/31Philadelphia, PA @ Creep Records
9/1 Brooklyn, NY @The Kingsland

More From Brooklyn Vegan