Earlier this year, NYC experimental rock vets Live Skull released a song for Martin Bisi's BC35: Volume Two compilation under the name New Old Skull, and revealed that they were also planning to release the first proper Live Skull album in 30 years. That album is now announced -- it's called Saturday Night Massacre and due November 8 via Bronson Recordings (pre-order) -- and we're premiering lead single "Identical Skies." It sees Live Skull embracing their gothy side, which works well with frontman Mark C's more seasoned voice. And despite a bit of a warmer sound, Live Skull haven't let up on the intensity one bit. Here's what Mark C says about the new album:

Live Skull formed during the Reagan administration, whose right wing, anti-progressive agenda ushered in what Mark E. Smith dubbed 'the new dark ages.' It’s only fitting that we reunite thirty years later in the midst of a new era of burgeoning anti-enlightenment forces; motivated more than ever to amplify our concerns for the preservation of social and artistic freedoms. Back in the day, Live Skull exploited the imagery of gore movies to express our disillusion with society’s turn toward darkness; now the facts are gory enough on their own.

We are not simply continuing where we left off; the world has changed and so have we. But our core values and interest in the enlightening possibilities of raw self-expression have remained intact. Live Skull is still committed to breaking down sonic and social barriers, to seek release and aesthetic bliss in the darkened corners of the music underworld.

The reanimated crypt of Live Skull spawns a new brood of cheerful tunes sure to make your blood boil! The latest in Live Skull’s continuing saga of depravity and redemption: Saturday Night Massacre.

Along with Mark C, the album's core lineup imcludes '80s-era drummer Rich Hutchins and new bassist Kent Heine, and it features guest vocals from '80s-era members Thalia Zedek (on "Nova Police" and "Midnight Zone") and Marnie Greenholz (on "Up Against the Wall"). Mark C recorded and mixed it himself in Hoboken, and it was mastered by Fred Kevorkian. Listen to the new song and view the album artwork and tracklist below.

Live Skull will host a listening party for the album on November 7 at Feels NYC in Queens, which will also include a chat with Mark C and Rich Hutchins.

Live Skull Saturday Night Massacre

1) Saturday Night Massacre
2) Nova Police
3) Up Against the Wall
4) Memory Time-Slip
5) Identical Skies
6) Details of the Madness
7) Shadow War
8) Never Kill a Client
9) Midnight Zone
10) The Date

More From Brooklyn Vegan