The Pop Group's Mark Stewart releases his new project VS this week. As the title hints, every song is a collaboration with another artist, including the late Lee 'Scratch' Perry, Front 242's Patrick Codenys, Mike Watt, Pan Sonic's Mika Vainio, Consolidated, Cabaret Voltaire's Stephen Mallinder, and more. Mark says the record is a result of “Looking for pieces / ancient futures / orphans of the storm / memefires / predictive programming, weird science/ nu ritual, the uncanny or eerie, numerology coded / not slaves to the algorithm,” by him and his collaborators. “I feel a debt of honour to each comrade on this record we are ‘together in static.’”

While the project is called VS, Stewart has chosen his collaborators wisely. They both challenge and compliment Stewart's distinctive dystopic, dubby post-punk style, whether it's the dark techno of Eric Random collab "Ghost of Love," the deep sea dub of "Outlaw Empire" (with Nun Gun and Adrian Sherwood), the intensely noisy "Cursed Child" (with Mika Vainio and Ye Gods), or the blitzkrieg disco cover of Grant Hart's "All of My Senses" with KK Null and Mike Watt.

The album is out Friday (4/6) but we're premiering a stream of the whole thing now. Listen below.


attachment-M Stewart VS cover

VS tracklist
1. Front 242 - Rage of Angels
2. Stephen Mallinder VS Eric Random - Cast No Shadow (Leaether Strip Mix)
3. Consolidated - The Last Enemy
4. Mika Vainio VS Ye Gods - Cursed Child
5. Eric Random - Ghost of Love
6. Nun Gun - Outlaw Empire (Adrian Sherwood Dub Mix)
7. KK Null – New Error
8. Ye Gods - "?"
9. Mike Watt VS KK Null - All My Senses
10. Lee "Scratch" Perry VS Peter Harris - Alpha (Adrian Sherwood Mix)

More From Brooklyn Vegan