The late Hal Willner was a great curator with a knack for bringing musicians from all different walks of life together, and one of his last projects before he passed was putting together the Marc Bolan/T. Rex tribute album AngelHeaded Hipster: The Songs of Marc Bolan and T.Rex, which will come out September 4 via BMG (pre-order).

It features 26 covers of songs Bolan released between 1968 and 1977, both with T. Rex and back when they were more of a folk rock band called Tyrannosaurus Rex. Contributors include Nick Cave, Joan Jett, Devendra Banhart, Lucinda Williams, Father John Misty, Peaches, Beth Orton, King Khan, U2 (ft. Elton John), David Johansen, John Cameron Mitchell, Emily Haines, Perry Farrell, Marc Almond, Todd Rundgen, Kesha, Sean Lennon + Charlotte Kemph Muhl, Julian Lennon + Victoria Williams, and more.

The album also features appearances by Donald Fagen, Mike Garson, Bill Frisell, Wayne Kramer, Van Dyke Parks and Marc Ribot, and arrangements by Thomas Bartlett, Steven Bernstein, Eli Brueggemann, J.G. Thirlwell and Steve Weisberg.

Nick Cave's cover of "Cosmic Dancer" is out now. It's a gorgeous rendition of the classic song, and it comes with a black-and-white video of Nick recording the song alone at a grand piano, with an orchestra recording in a different room and Hal looking on from the studio booth. It splices in old footage of Marc Bolan too. Check it out below.

"Hal had a unique vision of Marc Bolan's music, and working on AngelHeaded Hipster brought him great joy," said Supervising Producer of AngelHeaded Hipster and longtime Willner collaborator Rachel Fox. "Speaking for those closest to him, we will forever be heartbroken at the untimely loss of our beloved friend and irreplaceable creative engine. Hal, who referred to AngelHeaded Hipster as his ‘White Album’, was eager for everyone to hear these beautiful songs and to start thinking about Bolan and T. Rex again. This album is a testament to Hal’s spirit."

Disc 1
1. Children Of The Revolution - Kesha
2. Cosmic Dancer - Nick Cave
3. Jeepster - Joan Jett
4. Scenescof - Devendra Banhart
5. Life’s A Gas - Lucinda Williams
6. Solid Gold, Easy Action - Peaches
7. Dawn Storm - BØRNS
8. Hippy Gumbo - Beth Orton

9. I Love To Boogie - King Khan
10. Beltane Walk - Gaby Moreno
11. Bang A Gong (Get It On) - U2 feat. Elton John
12. Diamond Meadows - John Cameron Mitchell
13. Ballrooms Of Mars - Emily Haines

Disc 2
1. Main Man - Father John Misty
2. Rock On - Perry Farrell
3. The Street and Babe Shadow - Elysian Fields
4. The Leopards - Gavin Friday
5. Metal Guru - Nena
6. Teenage Dream - Marc Almond
7. Organ Blues - Helga Davis
8. Planet Queen - Todd Rundgren
9. Great Horse - Jessie Harris
10. Mambo Sun - Sean Lennon and Charlotte Kemp Muhl
11. Pilgrim’s Tale - Victoria Williams with Julian Lennon
12. Bang A Gong (Get It On) Reprise - David Johansen
13. She Was Born To Be My Unicorn / Ride A White Swan - Maria McKee


More From Brooklyn Vegan