by Bill Pearis

A Coliseum Complex Museum

Montreal vets The Besnard Lakes will release their fifth album, A Coliseum Complex Museum, next week (1/22) via Jagjaguwar. Core members Jace Lacek and Olga Goreas had the Besnard Lakes sound honed by the release of 2007's The Besnard Lakes Are The Dark Horse -- widescreen rock with stratospheric harmonies, a massive wall of afterburner guitars, and a mastery of dynamics -- and have continued to refine it since. The new record is another feather in their cap: you know what to expect at this point but that doesn't make it any less welcome. It's the kind of record that demands listening to loud until the neighbors complain. If that's a problem where you live, A Coliseum Complex Museum is also an excellent headphone album. You can stream the whole thing a week early via NPR, below.

As mentioned, The Besnard Lakes will travel to NYC for a one-off record release show at Rough Trade on Saturday, January 23. That's a free matinee show -- no album purchase or ticket required. (Doors at 1:30 PM, show at 2 PM.) They'll also be signing copies of the album purchased in the store afterwards. The Besnard Lakes are one of my favorite live bands -- don't miss this chance to see them for free.

---

THE BESNARD LAKES - TOUR DATES:
Sat. Jan. 23 - Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade
Thu. Feb. 18 - Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern
Fri. Feb. 19 - Montreal, QC @ Theatre Plaza St Hubert
Thu. Mar. 3 - Quebec City, QC @ Le Cercle
Thu. Mar. 31 - Bristol, UK @ The Fleece
Fri. Apr. 1 - Birmingham, UK @ The Hare And Hounds
Sat. Apr. 2 - Manchester, UK @ The Deaf Institute
Sun. Apr. 3 - Glasgow, UK @ The Hug & Pint
Mon. Apr. 4 - Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club
Tue. Apr. 5 - London, UK @ Islington Assembly Hall
Thu. Apr. 7 - Bruxelles, BE @ Botanique Rotonde
Fri. Apr. 8 - Amsterdam, NL @ Sugar Factory
Sat. Apr. 9 - Paris, FR @ Le Batofar
Sun. Apr. 10 - Koln, DE @ Gebäude 9
Mon. Apr. 11 - Hamburg, DE @ Molotow
Tue. Apr. 12 - Copenhagen, DK @ Beta
Wed. Apr. 13 - Berlin, DE @ Privat Club
Thu. Apr. 14 - Bezirk-Ottakring, AT @ Chelsea