Bay Area blackened death metallers Ulthar are nearing the release of their anticipated sophomore album Providence, which drops June 12 via 20 Buck Spin (pre-order). We already posted the songs "Through Downward Dynasties" and "Churn," and now we're premiering the third single, "Furnace Hibernation."

"Furnace Hibernation" finds Ulthar spreading their wings and mixing together their slower, sludgier side, their whiplash-inducing side, and their more spastic, tech-ier side, and the whole thing is a dose of absolutely bludgeoning filth. Each new song released from this album so far has been noticeably different than the last, and each one continues to suggest that Providence could be shaping up to be one of the year's finest death metal albums. "Borrowed time and borrowed world and borrowed eyes with which to sorrow it," the band says of the new song. Listen below.

Ulthar is Shelby Lermo (Vastum, Extremity), Justin Ennis (Void Omnia, Vale), and Steve Peacock (Mastery, Pandiscordian Necrogenesis, Pale Chalice, Spirit Possession), and their new album was recorded by Greg Wilkinson (High On Fire, Necrot), mastered by Adam Tucker (Thou, False), and features artwork by famed British fantasy illustrator Ian Miller. In related news, Steve Peacock's raw black metal project Spirit Possession (with Ashley Spungin of Ormus, Taurus, and more) just announced their self-titled debut LP yesterday (due 7/24 Profound Lore). You can hear the eponymous lead single from that below too.

Ulthar Providence

Providence Tracklist
1. Churn
2. Undying Spear
3. Providence
4. Through Downward Dynasties
5. Cudgel
6. Furnace Hibernation
7. Narcissus Drowning
8. Humanoid Knot

More From Brooklyn Vegan