Japanese film studio Studio Ghibli, home to the classic, beloved films of co-founder Hayao Miyazaki has remained staunchly anti-streaming through the rise of Netflix and other on-demand services; in an email to Polygon earlier this year, a representative for GKids, who owns the North American distribution rights to the studio's films, said, "Studio Ghibli does not make their films available digitally, whether for download or streaming, anywhere in the world. They continue to believe that presentation is vital and particularly appreciate opportunities for audiences to experience the films together in a theatrical setting." The studio finally had a change of heart, though, as its films are finally making their way to a streaming service for the first time ever next year. Variety reports that HBO Max, the forthcoming service from WarnerMedia, has obtained exclusive US streaming rights for the films, with select titles being available immediately upon its launch in spring of 2020, and more being added in the fall. See a list, which includes favorites like My Neighbor Totoro, Kiki's Delivery Service, Princess Mononoke, Howl's Moving Castle, and more, below.

"We are excited to be working with HBO Max to bring the complete collection of Studio Ghibli films to streaming audiences in the U.S.," Studio Ghibli chairman Koji Hoshino said. "As a premium content brand, HBO Max is an ideal home for our films. Upon launch of the service this spring, existing Ghibli fans will be able enjoy their favorites and delve deeper into the library, while whole new audiences will be able to discover our films for the first time."

Studio Ghibli films that will stream on HBO Max in 2020:
“Castle in the Sky”
“The Cat Returns”
“From Up On Poppy Hill”
“Howl’s Moving Castle”
“Kiki’s Delivery Service”
“My Neighbor Totoro”
“My Neighbors the Yamadas”
“Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind”
“Ocean Waves”
“Only Yesterday”
“Pom Poko”
“Porco Rosso”
“Princess Mononoke”
“The Secret World of Arrietty”
“Spirited Away”
“The Tale of The Princess Kaguya”
“Tales From Earthsea”
“When Marnie Was There”
“Whisper of the Heart”
“The Wind Rises”

More From Brooklyn Vegan