Sturgill Simpson was at the San Diego Comic Con this year to announce Sound & Fury, his new album and accompanying anime film for Netflix. He's now shared details of both which will be out September 27 via Elektra, and that's the cover art above. "I was listening to a lot of hip-hop, and Black Sabbath, and The Cars, and old funk records and things," Sturgill told Zane Lowe on the DJ's Beats One Radio show. "We were in Detroit while we were making the record, and I was sort of writing it in real time and listening to a lot of Eminem. And I was just like, man, this guy gets to talk mad shit. How come we can't do that? So I just sat down and wrote a bunch of mad shit talking songs about how fucking awesome we are. And then we recorded it. And then I said, man, this isn't weird enough. I should probably go to Japan and like get the five most legendary animation directors in history together and get them all drunk and put them to competition to see who can outdo one another and we'll just animate the whole fucking album. And then that happens and I got the label to pay for it."

The anime, which uses all ten songs from the album in full, was made with manga artist Takashi Okazaki (Afro Samurai) and filmmaker Junpei Mizusaki (Batman Ninja). You can get a taste right now with "Sing Along," a blues rock number that sounds both gritty and high-tech, and the accompanying footage from the anime as its video. Check that out below.

Sound & Fury tracklist:
01 Ronin
02 Remember to Breathe
03 Sing Along
04 A Good Look
05 Make Art Not Friends
06 Best Clockmaker on Mars
07 All Said and Done
08 Last Man Standing
09 Mercury in Retrograde
10 Fastest Horse in Town

More From Brooklyn Vegan