Sufjan Stevens followed 2015's magnificent Carrie & Lowell with Aporia, a collaborative new age album made with his stepfather (and Asthmatic Kitty co-founder) Lowell Brams, earlier this year. That isn't all the new Sufjan we'll be getting this year, either. He's just announced a new solo album, The Ascension, due out on September 25. Twelve-minute long first single "America" comes out on July 3, and you can see the tracklisting, and album art, below. The tracklist looks like it's possibly full of pop culture references -- "Run Away With Me" (Carly Rae Jepsen?), "Video Game" (Lana Del Rey?), "Landslide" (Fleetwood Mac?) "Make Me An Offer I Cannot Refuse" (The Godfather?), "Death Star" (Star Wars?), and probably more. Stay tuned!

Sufjan Stevens - The Ascension

The Ascension tracklisting
1. Make Me An Offer I Cannot Refuse (5:19)
2. Run Away With Me (4:07)
3. Video Game (4:16)
4. Lamentations (3:42)
5. Tell Me You Love Me (4:22)
6. Die Happy (5:47)
7. Ativan (6:32)
8. Ursa Major (3:43)
9. Landslide (5:04)
10. Gilgamesh (3:50)
11. Death Star (4:04)
12. Goodbye To All That (3:48)
13. Sugar (7:37)
14. The Ascension (5:56)
15. America (12:30)

More From Brooklyn Vegan