Sylvia Ryder has led LA-based group Sugarplum Fairies since 1998, and has released eight albums of hazy dreampop over the last 23 years. A new compilation, Altar Songs 1998-2021 collects 15 of Sugarplum Fairies best tracks, including new versions of three songs that feature Sid Simons of Beechwood and Girl Skin. The album also features contributions from Ken Coomer (Uncle Tupelo/Wilco), late Mazzy Star drummer Keith Mitchell, Jebin Bruni (Public Image Ltd, Fiona Apple), drummer Joey Waronker (Beck, REM), bassist Gus Seyffert (Beck, Norah Jones), cellist Martin Tillman (Elvis Costello, T Bone Burnett), and more.

We've got the premiere of the new version of "Sandy Says," that features Sid Simons and is an ethereal dose of twangy, breathy, late-night dreampop. Watch the video, and check out Altar Songs' artwork and tracklist below.

Altar Songs will be out December 3 via Starfish Records.


01. Sugarfree 2021
02. Velcro Girl
03. Heart Hell 2021 (feat. Sid Simons)
04. A Story
05. Tears
06. 96 Dreams (feat. Johnny Ruby)
07. Malta Smile 55
08. Sandy Says 2021 (feat. Sid Simons)
09. Touchdown or Fly
10. Dedeaux Fields
11. Fade Away
12. Jaguar Jackson
13. Hold On to Me
14. St. Andrew’s Place
15. Polaroid

More From Brooklyn Vegan