Last year, former Isis singer Aaron Turner teamed up with Baptists drummer Nick Yacyshyn and Botch/These Arms Are Snakes/Russian Circles' Brian Cook on bass to release their debut album as Sumac, The Deal (on Profound Lore). Now they've announced the album's followup, What One Becomes, which will be out on June 10 via new label home Thrill Jockey. The album was recorded at GodCity Studios with Converge's Kurt Ballou, and it's a five-song double LP that clocks in at one hour.

The first single is the 10-minute "Rigid Man," which starts out as a crushing, harshly-screamed metal song and then turns into a dark, spacey jam before bringing back the riffs at the end. Check it out, with the album artwork, tracklist and LP teaser video, below.

The band's only upcoming date is Southwest Terror Fest in Arizona this October.


Sumac What One Becomes

1. Image of Control
2. Rigid Man
3. Clutch of Oblivion
4. Blackout
5. Will to Reach

More From Brooklyn Vegan