Superheaven went on hiatus last year, and now guitarist/singer Jake Clarke is focusing on a solo career. His first release is a split with Wilkes-Barre, PA's Spur, coming out February 3 via Disposition Collective (pre-order). You can stream a track from each artist on the split now, ahead of its release.

The Jake Clarke song, "Yellow Gown," has a similar moody atmosphere to Superheaven but it's more on that band's shoegaze side than their heavy alt-rock side. Spur's contribution "Fire" is also equal parts punk and shoegaze and fits in really well with Jake's song. The band, who played Wrecking Ball last year, awesomely have this as their bio: "Gender is a myth, but aliens are real."

Jake and Spur are celebrating the split with shows together in Philly and Wilkes-Barre, and before that Jake will play a Brooklyn show with Alcoa (Derek from Defeater's alt-country band) on February 18 at Wayward Social (35 Ingraham St). All dates are listed below.

1. Jake Clarke - Get It Together
2. Jake Clarke - Yellow Gown
3. Jake Clarke - Prt 2
4. Jake Clarke - Falling
5. Jake Clarke - Ike's Place
6. Jake Clarke - Freak Show
7. Spur - Out Of View
8. Spur - Fire
9. Spur - Freeze
10. Spur - No Wish
11. Spur - Moon


Jake Clarke -- 2017 Tour Dates
Feb. 18 — Brooklyn, NY @ Wayward Social (w/ Alcoa)
Feb. 24 — Philadelphia, PA @ the Pharmacy (w/ Spur)
Feb. 25 — Wilkes-Barre, PA @ the Other Side (w/ Spur)

Spur (photo by Kait Kishbaugh)

More From Brooklyn Vegan