Shoegaze greats Swervedriver will return with Future Ruins, their first album in nearly four years, on January 25 via Dangerbird. Like many of us, what's to come has been weighing heavily on frontman Adam Franklin's mind. "There’s a lot of foreboding with regard to the future on this album,” says Adam. "Space is in there a lot too. In the first song, the character is a spaceman who’s trying to remember what life is really like. Also, it could be about somewhere in the world where winter isn’t like the winter here. A sunny place, but it’s December or January and you’re trying to remember winter. Something’s going on." That first song is "Mary Winter," an instantly recognizable blast of Swervedriver afterburners that you can listen to below.

Swervedriver will tour in 2019 as well, but right now only an impending SXSW appearance has been announced. Stay tuned.

In other news, Swervedriver's underrated third album, Ejector Seat Reservation, was recently reissued on vinyl.

Future Ruins 3000 x 3000

'Future Ruins' tracklisting:
1 Mary Winter
2 The Lonely Crowd Fades In The Air
3 Future Ruins
4 Theeascending
5 Drone Lover
6 Spiked Flower
7 Everybody’s Going Somewhere & No-One’s Going Anywhere
8 Golden Remedy
9 Good Times Are So Hard To Follow
10 Radio-Silent

More From Brooklyn Vegan