Composer and living legend Terry Riley is featured in a recent BBC documentary titled Tones, Drones and Arpeggios: The Magic of Minimalism. Made by musician and conductor Charles Hazlewood, the documentary focuses on Philip Glass, Steve Reich and La Monte Young in addition to Riley, to explore how these four American minimalist composers "rebooted classical music" in the 20th century. You can watch the first half of that documentary below.

Terry, who turned 83 in June, is still touring and has a handful of shows lined up for 2019, most of which are with his son, Gyan Riley. Those include NYC's Le Poisson Rouge on April 3 (tickets). Other North American dates include Toronto, and California dates in Santa Cruz and Chico. Terry and Gyan also will be on tour in Europe in April. Dates are below.

Terry Riley - 2019 Tour Dates
Friday 18 January 2019 - Koerner Hall, Toronto, ON (Terry Riley & Gyan Riley)
Saturday 02 February 2019 - Peace United Church of Christ (PUCC), Santa Cruz, CA, US
Friday 01 March 2019 - Chico State University, Chico, CA (duo Concert with Gloria Cheng)
Wednesday 03 April 2019 - Le Poisson Rouge, NYC (Terry Riley & Gyan Riley)
Wednesday 10 April 2019 - 24 Kitchen Street, Liverpool, UK (Terry Riley & Gyan Riley)
Friday 12 April 2019 - Riley Smith Theatre, Leeds, UK (Terry Riley & Gyan Riley)
Saturday 13 April 2019 - St George's Bristol, Bristol, UK (Terry Riley & Gyan Riley)
Sunday 14 April 2019 - The Old Market, Hove, UK (Terry Riley & Gyan Riley)
Tuesday 16 April 2019- Union Chapel, London, UK (Terry Riley & Gyan Riley)
Friday 19 April 2019 -Teatro Sanbapolis, Trento, Italy  (Terry Riley & Gyan Riley)
Sunday 21 April 2019 - Muziekcentrum Cactus, Bruges, Belgium