The Charlatans' Tim Burgess hasn't just hosted hundreds of Twitter Listening Parties over the last two pandemic years, he's also been making music. His new solo album Typical Music will be out September 23 via Bella Union. “I fell in love with the world again,” Burgess says. “During Covid, I read a pile of books, got better on guitar. I had new perspective. I wanted to learn how to be Tim Burgess who makes solo records. People have a vision of me as the singer in The Charlatans. That’s not going to change. Then there’s me as the Twitter guy. But I just fell in love with the world again and wanted the world to take me with them.”

Typical Music is a 22-track double album which he made at famed Rockfield Studios in Wales. “OK, we all know about double albums, right?,” says Burgess. “Historically, they’ve been thought of as indulgent. But I came to the conclusion that what I was doing was the opposite of that. I wanted to give people everything that I’d done. Every idea was treated as if it was the best thing and had to be treated with extreme care. I wanted to give everything of myself. That was it.”

The first single from the album is its title track, which starts off in swirling psychedelic territory but goes a little Kraftwerk by the end. The video was made by Kevin Godley of Godley & Creme, and you can watch that below.


Typical Music:
1. Here Comes The Weekend
2. Curiosity
3. Time That We Call Time
4. Flamingo
5. Revenge Through Art
6. Kinetic Connection
7. Typical Music
8. Take Me With You
9. After This
10. The Centre Of Me (Is a Symphony Of You)
11. When I See You
12. Magic Rising
13. Tender Hooks
13. Don’t Stay Lost
14. L.O.S.T Lost / Will You Take a Look At My Hand Please
15. A Bloody Nose
16. In May
17. Slacker (Than I’ve Ever Been)
18. View From Above
19. A Quarter To Eight
20. Sooner Than Yesterday
21. Sure Enough
22. What’s Meant For You Won’t Pass By You

More From Brooklyn Vegan