Domino Records launched an archival series for seminal Australian band The Go-Betweens back in 2014 with the first volume of the "G Stands for Go-Betweens" box sets, featuring their first three albums remastered on vinyl, a compilation of their early singles and lots more. Five years later the second one is finally coming out. G Stands for Go-Betweens Vol 2 will be released on December 6 and includes five vinyl albums, five CDs and a 112-page book.

At the heart of the box set are vinyl reissues of The Go-Betweens' three "golden period" albums -- 1986's Liberty Belle And The Black Diamond Express, 1987's Tallulah and 1988's 16 Lovers Lane -- all remastered from the original analogue tapes. There's also an 18-song double LP of the band performing at London's legendary Town & Country Club on May 10th, 1987, right before Tallulah was released. The CDs include a collection of 28 demos that McLennan and Forster recorded for what was supposed to be the group’s seventh album, before the band ended up splitting in 1989. Some of those songs would end up on McLennan and Forster's solo albums, but it's the first time any of these have been officially released. The CDs also include b-sides, radio sessions and more.

The book has tons of archival photos and extensive historical liner notes from founding member Robert Forster, along with additional pieces from guest essayists, fans and contemporaries, and there is also a poster and a Liberty Belle And The Black Diamond Express songbook with sheet music for the entire album.

G Stands for Go-Betweens Vol 2 is available for pre-order now and, like with the Vol. 1, the first 400 orders also get a book from the late Grant McLennan's library (some of which were signed and dated by Grant at the time of purchase). You can check out the box set tracklist -- watch videos for "Spring Rain" from Liberty Belle & The Black Diamond Express, and "Streets of Your Town" from 16 Lovers Lane -- below.

Meanwhile, Robert Forster will be on his first North American tour in 10 years in November, supporting this year's terrific Inferno. That tour hits Brooklyn on November 16 at the Bell House (tickets). All dates are listed below.



LP 1: Liberty Belle And The Black Diamond Express
side A:
Spring Rain
The Ghost And The Black Hat
The Wrong Road
To Reach Me
Twin Layers Of Lightning
side B:
In The Core Of The Flame
Head Full Of Steam
Bow Down
Palm Sunday (On Board the SS Within)
Apology Accepted

LP 2: Tallulah
side A:
Right Here
You Tell Me
Someone Else’s Wife
I Just Get Caught Out
Cut It Out
side B:
The House That Jack Kerouac Built
Bye Bye Pride
Spirit Of A Vampyre
The Clarke Sisters
Hope Then Strife

LP 3: 16 Lovers Lane
side A:
Side One:
Love Goes On!
Quiet Heart
Love Is A Sign
You Can’t Say No Forever The Devil’s Eye
side B:
Streets Of Your Town
Was There Anything I Could Do?
I’m Allright
Dive For Your Memory

LP 4: Fountains Of Youth
side A:
Bye Bye Pride
Unkind And Unwise
Part Company
The House That Jack Kerouac Built
side B:
The Clarke Sisters
This Girl, Black Girl
Don’t Call Me Gone
When People Are Dead
Your Turn My Turn
side C:
Cut It Out
You Tell Me
Head Full Of Steam
Right Here
Man O’ Sand To Girl O’ Sea
side D:
Apology Accepted
Spring Rain
Eight Picture

CD 1: The Devil Is In Your Dress
1. In The Core Of A Flame
2. Living The Life At Hand
3. To Reach Me
4. Grandfather Slow
5. Spring Rain
6. Head Full Of Steam
7. Wrong Road Round
8. Don’t Let Him Come Back
9. Reunion Dinner
10. Little Joe
11. The Life At Hand
12. Casanova’s Last Words
13. I Work In A Health Spa

CD 2: Run From Him
1. I Know What I Like
2. You Tell Me
3. Do It Like The Devil Did
4. Together At Last
5. Cut It Out
6. Easier Said Than Done
7. The House That Jack Kerouac Built
8. Right Here
9. Someone Else’s Wife
10. The Clarke Sisters
11. Bye Bye Pride
12. I Just Get Caught Out
13. A Little Romance
14. When People Are Dead
15. Don’t Call Me Gone
16. Time In The Desert
17. Doo Wop in ‘A’ (Bam Boom)

CD 3: Trying To Be A Strong Person
1. Wait Until June
2. The Devil’s Eye
3. I’m Allright
4. Was There Anything I Could Do?
5. You Won’t Find It Again
6. Love Is A Sign
7. Love Goes On!
8. Dive For Your Memory
9. Apples In Bed
10. Clouds
11. Head Over Heels
12. Casanova’s Last Words
13. You Can’t So No Forever
14. Quiet Heart
15. Wait Until June
16. Casanova’s Last Words
17. Rock and Roll Friend
18. Mexican Postcard
19. Rock and Roll Friend
20. Dive For Your Memory
21. Quiet Heart
22. Clouds
23. Love Goes On

CD 4/5: Loving Shocks

CD 4:
1. Dear Black Dream
2. Danger in The Past
3. Easy Come Easy Go
4. Broadway Bride
5. I Love You Still
6. What You Call Change
7. Open Invitation
8. You Can Dream About Tomorrow
9. I’ve Been Looking For Somebody
10. Outlaw #1
11. Haunted House
12. Sally’s Revolution Blues

CD 5:
1. Just Get That Straight
2. The Days My Eyes Came Back
3. Running The Risk Of Ever Losing You
4. It Had To Me
5. Signs Of Life
6. How I Wish This War Was Over
7. Art Cinema
8. Nowhere By Any Other Name
9. No Peace In The Palace
10. Here They Come
11. Child Of God
12. The Man Who Died Of Rapture
13. House of Snakes
14. All The Time
15. Send Him Back Home
16. What Goes Up Must Come Down

Robert Forster - 2019 Tour Dates
7th November 2019: Los Angeles, CA, The Echoplex
8th November 2019: San Francisco, CA, Swedish American Hall
9th November 2019: Portland, OR, Mississippi Studios
11th November 2019: Evanston, IL, Evanston SPACE
12th November 2019: Toronto, ON, The Drake Hotel
14th November 2019: Boston, MA, City Winery
15th November 2019: Philadelphia, PA
16th November 2019: Brooklyn, NY

More From Brooklyn Vegan