Brooklyn indiepop outfit The Hairs have been in semi-hibernation the last few years but are now set to release new album While, I Hated Life, Barbarian on June 24 via Old Flame. (Vinyl's limited to 300 copies, pre-order yours.)  The opening cut is "Barbarians," a slightly less low-fi production than we're used to hearing from The Hairs, but still with main man Kevin Alvir's knack for hooks and unique lyrical view. He says of this:

"Barbarians" is a gay kiss-off song. I wanted a fantasy epic song with imagery of barbarians (duh), swordfighting, being homeless, cops, heroin, and other fun stuff. All the while, the main character of the song is just trying to survive it all.

Stream "Barbarians" below.

The Hairs, which live currently includes Jacob from Dream Diary/Pains of Being Pure at Heart, are playing NYC Popfest this year, a free day show at Cake Shop on May 20 with Norway's Je Suis Animal, Massachusetts band Halfsour, and Portland's Avaleya & the Glitterhawks. You can catch them before that at Shea Stadium on April 12 with Dumb Wolves, Jackyl Onasis and Fraidycat ($8 at the door, more info).

While, I Hated Life, Barbarian cover art, tracklist and new song stream below.



The Hairs While, I Hated Life, Barbarian LP

The Hairs -While, I Hated Life, Barbarian tracklist
1) Barbarians
2) My Battleaxe
3) ...And Then...
4) I Wanna Get A Life
5) That Witch
6) Homeboyzzz
7) Tiny Tim Burton
8) Bologne Cologne
9) The Speck of Dust That Loved You
10) Nude Cruise
11) What Me Worry
12) Ballad of a Grown-Ass Woman

More From Brooklyn Vegan