Nineties punk greats The Lillingtons returned with their first new music in 11 years, the Project 313 EP on Red Scare, this past June, and now they're set to release their first new full length. It's called Stella Sapiente, and it comes out on October 13 via their new label home, Fat Wreck Chords (pre-order). The band say that this new album is a new direction for them, but they're choosing to ease fans in with lead single "Insect Nightmares," one of the new songs that's closer to their classic material. Vocalist/guitarist Kody Templeman tells us:

We chose to premiere “Insect Nightmares” because even though it is an obvious step in a new direction, it still retains the feel of a Lillingtons song. We thought fans of the older material (especially Project 313) could identify it as a Lillingtons song while being exposed to musical elements that we have implemented on Stella Sapiente. The theme of the song is lighter and more akin to what people expect from us. We hope our fans enjoy it and appreciate a peek of the darkness that is yet to come.

"Insect Nightmares" is a total ripper that Lillingtons fans should indeed enjoy, and it premieres below.

The Lillingtons are also playing The Fest this year, and they have other tour dates leading up to that. All dates are listed below.

1: Golden Dawn/Knights Templar
2: Insect Nightmares
3: Night Visions
4: K6
5: Zodiac
6: Pursuit of Pleasure
7: London Fog
8: Cult of Dagon
9: Villagers
10: The Walker
11: They Live
12: Drawing Down the Stars


The Lillingtons -- 2017 Tour Dates
08/18/17 Rock Springs, WY The Old American Legion
08/20/17 Colorado Springs, CO Triple Nickel Tavern
08/21/17 Ft. Collins, CO Surfside 7
08/23/17 Omaha, NE Lookout Lounge
08/24/17 Indianapolis, IN White Rabbit Cabaret
08/25/17 St. Louis, MO Fubar
08/26/17 Chicago, IL Metro
08/27/17 Fort Wayne, IN The Brass Rail
10/27/17 Gainesville, FL The Fest 16

More From Brooklyn Vegan