Sinkane at William Onyeabor tribute (more by Chris La Putt)
Sinkane

It's finally summer which means there's no lack of free outdoor live music in NYC, and here's yet another option. The Lot in Long Island City is a free, all ages music & film series running from August 2 - September 20 at 43-15 Crescent Street with music every Saturday from 3-9 PM and film every Thursday from 6-10 PM. The music lineup includes shows from Sinkane, Small Black, Kevin Morby, Hollis Brown, Jonny Fritz (formerly Jonny Corndawg), Widowspeak, Alex Bleeker & the Freaks, The Sugarman 3, Naomi Shelton & the Gospel Queens, and more. Full schedule below.

Sinkane, who's due for a new album, also has a fall tour with Helado Negro coming up that includes a NYC show happening October 5 at Baby's All Right. Tickets for that show are on sale now. After the tour, he plays another NYC show on November 2 at SOB's. No other artists billed for that show yet. Tickets are on sale. All of his dates are listed below.

Sinkane's Long Island City show is with Blue Note-signed jazz musician Takuya Kuroda, who among other things has collaborated with Jose James. Takuya also plays a Brooklyn show at Glasslands on July 26 with Gabriel Garzón Montano. Tickets for that show are on sale now. Watch a video of him below.

Speaking of all-day Saturday music series in Long Island City, Warm Up at MoMA PS1 kicked off this past weekend (6/28) and continues this coming weekend (7/5) through September 6. As we mentioned, to get to LIC from July 25 through September, you can't use the G (which will be stopping at Nassau), but there will be a bus shuttle service between Nassau and Court Sq, and you can still take the 7 or E.

The Lot in Long Island City schedule, with the list of Sinkane dates and Takuya Kuroda video, below...

---

Takuya Kuroda - "Rising Son"

The Lot in Long Island City
8/2 SINKANE/ TAKUYA KURODA
8/9 STREETS OF LAREDO/ WALKING SHAPES
8/16 TAYLOR McFERRIN/ JENNAH BELL
8/23 SMALL BLACK/ KEVIN MORBY
8/30 FREDRICKS BROWN/ SILVER Feat. EDDIE HENDERSON
9/6 HOLLIS BOWN/ JONNY FRITZ
9/13 WIDOWSPEAK/ ALEX BLEEKER AND THE FREAKS
9/20 SUGARMAN 3/ NAOMI SHELTON AND THE GOSPEL QUEENS/ DAPTONE RECORDS DJ's

--

Sinkane --- 2014 Tour Dates
Sat 08/02/14 The LOT LIC Queens NY The LOT LIC Music & Film Series, Takuya Kuroda
Wed 10/01/14 Casa del Popolo Montreal QC *
Thu 10/02/14 Higher Ground Showcase Lounge South Burlington VT *
Fri 10/03/14 Cafe 939 Boston MA *
Sat 10/04/14 Iron Horse Northampton MA *
Sun 10/05/14 Baby's All Right Brooklyn NY *
Tue 10/07/14 Johnny Brenda's Philadelphia PA *
Wed 10/08/14 DC9 Washington DC *
Thu 10/09/14 The Southern Charlottesville VA *
Fri 10/10/14 Asheville Music Hall Asheville NC *
Sat 10/11/14 Zanzabar Louisville KY *
Sun 10/12/14 Schubas Tavern Chicago IL *
Mon 10/13/14 Turf Club Saint Paul MN *
Fri 10/17/14 Barboza Seattle WA *
Sat 10/18/14 Mississippi Studios Portland OR *
Sun 10/19/14 The Independent San Francisco CA *
Tue 10/21/14 Echo Los Angeles CA *
Wed 10/22/14 Casbah San Diego CA *
Thu 10/23/14 Last Exit Live Phoenix AZ *
Fri 10/24/14 Club Congress Tucson AZ *
Sun 10/26/14 Empire Control Room Austin TX *
Mon 10/27/14 One Eyed Jacks New Orleans LA *
Tue 10/28/14 Bottletree Birmingham AL *
Wed 10/29/14 Exit In Nashville TN *
Thu 10/30/14 Wexner Center Columbus OH *
Sat 11/01/14 Smiling Moose Pittsburgh PA *
Sun 11/02/14 SOBs New York NY
* w/ Helado Negro