Alt-rock/punk vets The Muffs made a pretty nice-sized comeback with 2014's Whoop Dee Do, which was their first album in a decade, and it looks like we'll only have to wait half that amount of time for a followup. They just announced their first album in five years, No Holiday, coming October 18 via Omnivore Recordings (pre-order). It's their first for Omnivore since the label reissued their classic '90s albums The Muffs, Blonder and Blonder, and Happy Birthday to Me.

The album features 18 songs written between 1991 and 2017, and singer, guitarist, and songwriter Kim Shattuck says, "We decided to have a long album and use songs that had been in my arsenal but were weeded out for super concise albums. They were all great songs and we didn’t want them to go to waste. No way!"

Drummer Roy McDonald adds, "I think No Holiday is the most unique album we’ve ever made — 18 songs that run the spectrum from full-blown productions to intimate home recordings. This was a labor of love for us and I think that comes out in the record. We wanted to create something lasting and special. I, for one, couldn’t be happier with the results."

And bassist Ronnie Barnett says, "I think this new album represents the depth of our band like none of our others. It could have easily been aptly called The Many Moods of the Muffs. All of our strengths: melody, big rock, sweetness, nastiness . . . All on display and readily apparent. The three of us, after all these years, are a family. The love between us is well represented here. We laid it all out there on this one."

Watch a trailer for the album, which features a clip of new music, and see the full tracklist below.

1. That’s For Me
2. Down Down Down
3. No Holiday
4. Earth Below Me
5. A Lovely Day Boo Hoo
6. Late And Sorry
7. The Best
8. Pollyanna
9. Sick Of This Old World
10. To That Funny Place
11. You Talk And You Talk
12. Happier Just Being With You
13. Lucky Charm
14. On My Own
15. Too Awake
16. Insane
17. The Kids Have Gone Away
18. Sky

More From Brooklyn Vegan