photos by Mike Benigno

The Posies @ the Rock Shop on September 23rd
The Posies

The Posies don't usually rehearse before tours, but they did for the one that starts next week in Spain. The reason: 'Blood/Candy,' an unusually complex album the band releases Tuesday and performed in full Thursday night at the Rock Shop in Brooklyn, N.Y.

"Welcome to half the Mercury Lounge," singer and guitarist Jon Auer said at the top of the set, looking out at a room that, indeed, might fit twice in that Manhattan venue. Not surprisingly, the show was sold out, and as the Posies unveiled songs from their seventh studio effort, fans listened politely, keeping even between-song clapping to a minimum. -[Spinner]

The Posies played the Rock Shop in September to prep for that EU-followed-by-US tour, and to celebrate the release of Blood/Candy with they performed in its entirety.

The band returns to NYC to play Highline Ballroom tonight, November 13th, as part of their tour with Brendan Benson and Aqueduct. Tickets are still on sale.

Updated tour dates and more pictures from the Rock Shop, below...

The Posies

The Posies

The Posies

The Posies

The Posies

The Posies

The Posies

The Posies

The Posies

The Posies

Posies 2010 U.S. Tour Dates w/ Brendan Benson and Aqueduct
Nov. 13 Sat. @ The Highline Ballroom, New York, NY
Nov. 14 Sun. @ The Trocadero Theater, Philadelphia, PA
Nov. 16 Tues. @ Royale, Boston, MA
Nov. 17 Wed. @ 9:30 Club, Washington, DC
Nov. 18 Thu. @ Cat's Cradle, Carrboro, NC
Nov. 19 Fri. @ Exit/In, Nashville, TN
Nov. 20 Sat @ The Loft, Atlanta, GA
Nov. 21 Sun. @ Minglewood Hall, Memphis, TN
Nov. 23 Tues. @ One Eyed Jacks, New Orleans, LA
Nov. 24 Wed. @ Granada Theater, Dallas, TX (No Brendan Benson)
Nov. 26 Fri. @ La Zona Rosa, Austin, TX
Nov. 27 Sat. @ The Argentum, Houston, TX
Nov. 30 Tues. @ Belly Up, Aspen, CO
Dec. 1 Wed. @ Gothic Theatre, Englewood, CO
Dec. 3 Fri. @ Club Nokia @ LA Live, Los Angeles, CA
Dec 4. Sat. @ Mystic Theatre, Petaluma, CA
Dec. 5 Sun. @ The Independent, San Francisco, CA
Dec. 7 Tues. @ WOW Hall, Eugene, OR
Dec. 8 Wed. @ Aladdin Theater, Portland, OR
Dec 10 Fri. @ Venue, Vancouver, BC Canada
Dec. 11 Sat. @ Showbox at the Market, Seattle, WA