The Range (aka producer James Hinton) will release his new album, Potential, this Friday (3/25) via Domino. The new single from the LP is "Copper Wire" which features UK rapper Kruddy Zak. Says Hinton:

I think a lot of my favorite lyrics on Potential allude to coming to terms with a difficult time in your life - that moment of acceptance when you finally allow yourself to drop your guard and admit you’ve been hit with something hard. Zak's verse has a piece in it that states '09 was emotional / it's a memory / I wish that everything was still the same' and that hit me particularly deeply as that was the year I lost my mom. Writing this song was the first time I ever talked about that moment in my music, and I think it was an important step in dealing with how I was feeling to finally get some words about it down on paper.

Stream "Copper Wire," as well as previous single "Florida" and the video for "Four Five," below.

You can see The Range in NYC this weekend. He'll open for Empress Of at Bowery Ballroom on Friday and tickets are still available; and perform at Brooklyn's Good Room on Saturday (3/26) as part of a Ninja Tune-presented party that also features DJ sets by Nathan Fake, Jay Daniel, Honey Dijon, Jim-E Stack, Chida, and James Friedman. Tickets are on sale now.

The Range will also be at festivals FORM Arcosanti, Pitchfork, Osheaga this year. All upcoming dates are listed below.



The Range - Potential tracklist:
1. Regular
2. Copper Wire
3. Florida
4. Superimpose
5. Five Four
6. Falling Out of Phase
7. No Loss
8. Skeptical
9. Retune
10. So
11. 1804

The Range - 2016 Tour Dates
March 25 || Bowery Ballroom || New York, NY * with Empress Of
March 26 || Brooklyn, NY || Good Room
May 13-15 || FORM Arcosanti || Arcosanti, AZ
July 15-17 || Pitchfork Music Festival || Chicago, IL
July 30 || Osheaga Festival || Montreal, QC