The Replacements are releasing a live album of their February 4, 1986 show at Maxwell's in Hoboken, NJ. It was one of the final shows with the classic lineup of Paul Westerberg, Bob Stinson, Tommy Stinson, and Chris Mars, before Bob left the band. A recording of the show has existed in the Warner Music vaults for decades, though it's been bootlegged as Murder At The Maxwell. Talking about the recordings of that show for Pitchfork in 2014, Tyler Wilcox wrote:

... the ‘Mats wouldn’t be the the ‘Mats if they weren’t teetering on the edge of complete collapse. It’s that delicious tension that makes this show such a ragged, glorious pleasure. As opposed to the soused wiseass he was at CBGB, Westerberg sounds as though he has something to prove, howling righteously through some of his finest anthems—"Unsatisfied", "Bastards of Young", "Left of the Dial" and others. His cohorts respond in kind, blasting away behind their leader fearlessly like some kind of post-hardcore Crazy Horse. Bob Stinson’s leads are particularly dead-on, full of tightwire act daring and pure rock ‘n’ roll heat.

The new album is called For Sale: Live at Maxwell’s 1986 and it features all 29 songs from that show spread across two discs (including covers of Sweet's "Fox on the Run," T. Rex's "Baby Strange," Vanity Fair's "Hitchin' A Ride," and The Beatles' "Nowhere Man"). It also comes with liner notes by Trouble Boys: The True Story of the Replacements author Bob Mehr and never-before-seen photos by Caryn Rose. It comes out October 6 via Rhino. Check out the full tracklist and listen to the live album version of "Can't Hardly Wait" (with lyrics "in progress") below.

The Replacements reunited a few years ago, but as of 2015 the reunion has seemingly come to an end. Tommy Stinson has been busy this year with his band Bash & Pop, who are reissuing their debut and that reissue also has new liner notes by Bob Mehr.

Disc 1
1. “Hayday”
2. “Color Me Impressed”
3. “Dose Of Thunder”
4. “Fox On The Run”
5. “Hold My Life”
6. “I Will Dare”
7. “Favorite Thing”
8. “Unsatisfied”
9. “Can’t Hardly Wait”
10. “Tommy Gets His Tonsils Out”
11. “Takin’ A Ride”
12. “Bastards Of Young”
13. “Kiss Me On The Bus”
14. “Black Diamond”

Disc 2
1. “Johnny’s Gonna Die”
2. “Otto”
3. “I’m In Trouble”
4. “Left Of The Dial”
5. “God Damn Job”
6. “Answering Machine”
7. “Waitress In The Sky”
8. “Take Me Down To The Hospital”
9. “Gary’s Got A Boner”
10. “If Only You Were Lonely”
11. “Baby Strange”
12. “Hitchin’ A Ride”
13. “Nowhere Man”
14. “Go”
15. “Fuck School”

More From Brooklyn Vegan