Detroit ska-punk vets The Suicide Machines have been reunited since 2009 but there's been no sign of new music... until now. Their first new album in 15 years, Revolution Spring, will come out March 27 via Fat Wreck Chords (pre-order), and lead single "Awkward Always" is out now. The album was recorded at Laura Jane Grace & The Devouring Mothers bassist Marc Jacob Hudson's Rancho Recordo studio, produced by Less Than Jake bassist/co-frontman Roger Lima, and also aided by The Code frontman Marc Code (who's also the band's longtime friend and now manager). As for what made the band finally make new music: "Everyone just kind of got inspired," said vocalist Jason Navarro. "That’s all. I think we were watching all these other bands ride a wave of nostalgia and we didn’t want to be lumped into that, so we started writing a couple of songs and it went from there."

"Awkward Always" was one of the first three songs written for the record, and Navarro says it helped spark the rest of the record. "We were like, 'Wow, these are better than most of the songs Suicide Machines have ever written in any form.' That was the start of the spark. It was a long process after that because we were very picky about it, because we wanted to put out the record we wanted to put out and nothing else." It's a ripper that finds the band in fine form, and it sounds as relevant today as The Suicide Machines' classics sounded two decades ago. Give it a spin below.

The Suicide Machines have two upcoming US shows at the moment: Anti-Flag's ANTIfest at Pittsburgh's Roxian Theatre on March 28 and Atlantic City Beer & Music Festival on April 4 with Against Me!, Iron Chic, and more.

1 Bully in Blue
2 Awkward Always
3 Babylon of Ours
4 Flint Hostage Crisis
5 To Play Caesar (Is to Be Stabbed to Death)
6 Trapped in a Bomb
7 Detroit Is the New Miami
8 Eternal Contrarian
9 Well Whiskey Wishes
10 Black Tar Halo
11 Empty Time
12 Impossible Possibilities
13 Potter's Song
14 Simple
15 Anarchist Wedding
16 Cheers to Ya