British folk musician Kate Stables' band This Is The Kit have announced their first album for Rough Trade, Moonshine Freeze, due out July 7 (pre-order). The band have long been associated with The National, who they toured with years ago. The National's Aaron Dessner signed them to his Brassland label for previous releases, and also produced their 2015 album Bashed Out. He didn't produce this one -- PJ Harvey collaborator John Parish, who also produced This is the Kit's 2008 debut, did -- but he did collaborate to a number of songs on it. One of those songs is the title track, for which This Is the Kit just released a Rough Trade Session video. The song is a very nice sounding bit of English folk, as you can hear for yourself below.

This Is the Kit are playing the Aaron Dessner and Justin Vernon-curated Eaux Claires Festival in June, and they have a show at Brooklyn's Baby's All Right (6/20) just a few days later (tickets). No other dates announced at the moment.

This Is the Kit were also on The National's Grateful Dead tribute album last year, and their take on the traditional folk song "Jack-A-Roe" is fantastic.

1. Bullet Proof
2. Hotter Colder
3. Moonshine Freeze
4. Easy On The Thieves
5. All Written Out In Numbers
6. Empty No Teeth
7. Riddled With Ticks
8. Two Pence Piece
9. Show Me So
10. By My Demon Eye
11. Solid Grease

More From Brooklyn Vegan