Eugene, OR instrumental post-rock band This Patch of Sky have signed to Equal Vision imprint Graphic Nature Records for the release of their fourth album, These Small Spaces, due September 22 (pre-order). The album was produced and mixed by the talented Matt Bayles (Minus the Bear, Mastodon, Isis, Russian Circles, etc), who has the perfect touch for this kind of music, and the album includes a remix of one its songs by post-rock greats This Will Destroy You. If you like TWDY and the type of work Matt Bayles is known for, This Patch of Sky should be right up your alley.

We're premiering the new single "Bella Muerte," which is one of several gorgeous, climactic songs on These Small Spaces. Starting out with pounding floor toms and some impassioned cello playing, the song builds to something grander and heavier. A wall of distorted guitars comes in by the end, and the cellist keeps the main melody going all throughout the explosive climax. It's a really cool song -- not your average Explosions in the Sky imitation by any means. Listen below.

The band also have a few fall tour dates coming up, including Brooklyn on October 6 at Goldsounds (tickets coming soon). They also play dunk!USA in Vermont, which Pelican headline. All dates are listed below.


1. Hiraeth
2. Coordinates (44°06'12N 121°46'09W)
3. Pale Lights
4. Paper Mountains
5. Her Beating Wings
6. Under Vermilion Cliffs
7. Bella Muerte
8. What Once Was Lost
9. Pale Lights (This Will Destroy You Remix)


This Patch of Sky -- 2017 Tour Dates
Oct 04 Philadelphia, PA @ Voltage Lounge
Oct 05 New Haven, CT @ The Space
Oct 06 Brooklyn, NY @ Goldsounds
Oct 07 Burlington, VT @ Dunk Festival

More From Brooklyn Vegan