Throwing Muses, who are closing in on 40 years together as a group (nearly 30 years with this lineup of Kristin Hersh, David Narcizo and Bernard Georges), will release their 10th album, Sun Racket, on May 22 via Fire. It's also first Muses album in seven years. “Sun Racket has always been geographical... a transplanted southerner in New England crash landing in California," says Narcizo. "A West Coast sound at New England scale, dragged back down to the south where the elements got more aggressive but now with deeper roots.” Add Hersh, "After thirty years of playing together, we trust each other implicitly but we trust the music more." You can check out the crunchy, catchy first single, "Dark Blue," below.


Sun Racket tracklist
1. Dark Blue
2. Bywater
3. Maria Laguna
4. Bo Diddley Bridge
5. Milk at McDonald’s
6. Upstairs Dan
7. St. Charles
8. Frosting
9. Kay Catherine
10. Sue’s

More From Brooklyn Vegan