Earlier this month, Thurston Moore released a new single, "Cease Fire," and announced a tour with The Thurston Moore Group (who count Thurston's Sonic Youth bandmate Steve Shelley and My Bloody Valentine's Deb Googe as members). Now he's announced his next album.

"Cease Fire" isn't on the album, but the much calmer new single "Smoke of Dreams" is. You can watch the video for that one below. Deb Googe and Steve Shelley both play on the LP. It's called Rock n Roll Consciousness, and it drops April 28 via Caroline International. (His last album, 2014's The Best Day, was on Matador.)

The Thurston Moore Group tour hits NYC on May 20 at Music Hall of Williamsburg. Tickets for that show are on sale now.

1. Exalted
2. Cusp
3. Turn On
4. Smoke of Dreams
5. Aphrodite