Titus Andronicus @ Mercury Lounge, New Years Eve (more by Zach Stern)
Titus Andronicus

As we were saying, openers for each of Vampire Weekend's three NYC shows on January 17th, 18th and 19th have been announced. The first night at United Palace Theater has Titus Andronicus. The second at Webster Hall features Holly Miranda. And the third show at Bowery Ballroom will be opened by Dirty Projector Nat Baldwin. All three nights are sold out.

Titus Andronicus's new record, The Monitor, comes out March 9th on XL Recordings (same label as Vampire Weekend and Holly Miranda), and new track "Four Score and Seven" is streaming on their Myspace in full, or you can download it in two parts above. Art, more info and the tracklist for the Civil War themed concept ("sort of") record are below.

The band plays an album release show on March 6th at Bowery Balloom. Tickets go on presale Wednesday at noon. General sale starts Friday, January 8th at noon. The show will be part of a bigger TBA tour that also includes SXSW in Austin later that month,

Titus's last NYC show was at Mercury Lounge on New Years Eve. All future dates and album stuff below...

Titus Andronicus

XL Recordings is excited to announce the release of The Monitor, the second album by Titus Andronicus. It's set for release on March 9th, 2010, which also happens to be the 148th anniversary of the Battle of Hampton Roads (see track 10), wherein the U.S.S. Monitor and the C.S.S. Virginia entered into their epic struggle off the coast of Virginia.

The Monitor is 65 minutes long, and is comprised of 10 tracks varying in length between 1:55 and 14:02.

The Monitor is a concept album about the Civil War, "sort of", says singer Patrick Stickles. He goes on to say that "It doesn't take place in olden times, nor does it necessarily feature any characters that participated in that conflict. Really, it is a record about how the conflicts that led our nation into that great calamity remain unresolved, and the effect that this ongoing division has on our personal relationships and our behavior and how they're all out to get us (or maybe not?) and yadda yadda yadda."
We invite you to listen to a track from the album, "Four Score And Seven", Parts 1 + 2. The full song is 8:39 minutes long, but it's been conveniently split into 2 parts for your listening pleasure and for the purposes of the vinyl double A side 7" which will be released on February 9th, (Abraham Lincoln's 201st birthday, 201 being the area code of Glen Rock, NJ).

1. A More Perfect Union
2. Titus Andronicus Forever
3. No Future Part Three: Escape from No Future
4. Richard II or Extraordinary Popular Delusions and the Madness of Crowds
5. A Pot In Which To Piss
6. Four Score and Seven
7. Theme from "Cheers"
8. To Old Friends and New
9. ...And Ever
10. The Battle of Hampton Roads

Titus Andronicus - 2010 Tour Dates
Jan 17 United Palace Theater w/ Vampire Weekend (Sold Out) New York, New York
Mar 06 The Bowery Ballroom (Record Release show) New York, New York
Mar 17-21: SXSW, Austin, TX
(more dates TBA)

More From Brooklyn Vegan