Tricky Skilled Mechanics

Trip-hop veteran Tricky recently launched Skilled Mechanics, "his new collaborative project that will feature a rotating cast of contributors from project to project." The first Skilled Mechanics album will be self-titled and comes out January 22 via Tricky's own False Idols label (pre-order). The album was made with DJ Milo and Luke Harris, and features Oh Land, Ann Dao, Ivy 艾菲, Francesca Belmonte, and Xdare. The first single is "Diving Away," and it's a re-imagination of Porno For Pyros' "Porpoise Head." Listen below.

Earlier this year, FACT ranked the 50 best trip-hop albums of all time, which was topped by Tricky's 1995 album Maxinquaye. Portishead, DJ Shadow, Massive Attack and Luke Vibert round out the top 5. Check out the whole list here.


1. I'm Not Going (featuring Oh Land)
2. Hero (featuring Ann Dao)
3. Don't Go
4. Beijing To Berlin (featuring Ivy 艾菲)
5. Diving Away
6. Boy
7. Bother
8. How's Your Life
9. Here My Dear
10. We Begin' (featuring Francesca Belmonte)
11. Well
12. Necessary
13. Unreal (featuring Xdare)

More From Brooklyn Vegan