Last year, Triptykon "completed" Celtic Frost's long-unfinished Requiem trilogy live at Roadburn, and as promised, they're releasing it as a live album/film as a "stopgap release" (Tom G Warrior‘s words) before finally putting out the anticipated new Triptykon album. It officially has a release date of May 15 via Prowling Death Records / Century Media Records (pre-order), and a video preview of the album/film is out now. It's only a minute and a half long, but it looks and sounds great so far. Check it out:

Here's more info, via press release:

Requiem (Live at Roadburn 2019) marks the exceptional conclusion of a project over 30 years in the making: The legendary Celtic Frost/Triptykon "Requiem" performed for the first time in its entirety and with full classical orchestration by the Dutch Metropole Orkest.

Requiem (46:00 min.) is composed of three chapters:
1. "Rex Irae" (06:34 min.) (First appeared on 1987's "Into The Pandemonium" album by Celtic Frost)
2. "Grave Eternal" (32:28 min.) (Newly written middle part)
3. "Winter" (06:54 min.) (First appeared on 2006's Monotheist album by Celtic Frost)

This unique and groundbreaking release comes in various formats, each with slightly differing cover art by Daniele Valeriani (as presented above):

- Special Edition CD + DVD Mediabook (With booklet of 36 pages)
- Ltd. Gatefold 180g. LP + DVD (With LP-Booklet of 12 pages and 2x poster)
- Standard CD Jewelcase
- Ltd. Deluxe Artbook with coloured LP + CD + DVD + coloured 7Inch (With bonus track, score book of 60 pages, 3x poster, artprint and photocard)
- Digital album

The initial and limited Gatefold LP + DVD release will come in the following editions and limitations:
- Black vinyl
- White vinyl - 200x copies (CM Europe Onlineshop)
- Golden vinyl - 300x copies (CM Distro Europe)
- Transp. Magenta vinyl - 300x copies (CM USA Onlineshop)
- Silver vinyl - 200x copies (Nuclear Blast)
- Orange vinyl - 200x copies (EMP)
- Clear vinyl - 200x copies (Triptykon, band-exclusive)

The 12"-sized Deluxe Artbook edition is limited to 2000 copies worldwide. It includes the exclusive dark red vinyl edition of the album, as well as an exclusive dark red 7" EP of the bonus track ("Winter - Concert Rehearsal Take April 11, 2019"), and the CD (with the bonus track), the DVD, a 24 page booklet, a 60 page score book, 3x poster, an artprint and a photocard. A preview of the Artbook and its content can be seen below.


Triptykon Requiem Line-Up:
(From left to right on photo above)
Tom Gabriel Warrior - voice, guitar
Hannes Grossmann - drums, percussion
Vanja Slajh - bass, vocals
V. Santura - guitar, vocals

Special Guest:
Safa Heraghi - Requiem live co-lead vocalist

More From Brooklyn Vegan