The World is a Beautiful Place & I am No Longer Afraid To Die are finally ready to follow 2015's great Harmlessness with a new album. It's called Always Foreign and it comes out on September 29 via Epitaph (pre-order). Their lineup is always changing, and they recorded this one with David F Bello (vocals), Josh Cyr (bass, vocals), Chris Teti (guitar, producer), Tyler Bussey (guitar, banjo, synth, vocals), Dylan Balliett (guitar, vocals), Katie Dvorak (synth, vocals), and Steven K Buttery (percussion, vocals). Talking about the new album, David F Bello said in a press release:

When we started writing we were fresh off Trump being elected, so there’s an anger to the album that’s different from what we’ve done in the past. There’s a lot more resistance thinking throughout the songs—not in a way that’s strictly anti-Trump, but also addressing things like white supremacy and controlling elements of the state.

The first single is "Dillon And Her Son," which sees the band picking up where Harmlessness left off and going in new directions too. It's a dose of the band's trademark heavily-layered indie rock, with overlapping vocalists, busy synth lines, and a real burst of upbeat spirit running throughout the song. Listen below (via The FADER).

photo by Shervin Lainez

01 I’ll Make Everything
02 The Future
03 Hilltopper
04 Faker
05 Gram
06 Dillon and Her Son
07 Blank #12
08 For Robin
09 Marine Tigers
10 Fuzz Minor
11 Infinite Steve

More From Brooklyn Vegan