One of the most anticipated new films of the spring is The Northman, the new Viking historical fantasy from director Robert Eggers (The Witch, The Lighthouse) that stars Alexander Skarsgård, Nicole Kidman, Claes Bang, Anya Taylor-Joy, Ethan Hawke, Willem Dafoe, and Bjork, in her first film role since Dancer in the Dark. It's out April 22 and you can check out the trailer for it below.

The score for The Northman was composed by Robin Carolan (Tri Angle Records founder) and Sebastian Gainsborough (Vessel), who worked outside of their normal electronic template and used traditional instruments like the tagelharpa, langspil, kravik lyre, and säckpipa. "Rob wanted the world of The Northman to feel harsh and uncomfortable," say the composers, "and for everything to feel like it was caked in mud and dry blood, so it was crucial for the score to mirror that."

You can get a taste of Carolan & Gainsborough's score with the sweeping, pounding "Storm At Sea / Yggdrasill" -- listen below.

The Northman soundtrack will be out digitally on April 22 to coincide with the film, and physically on July 1 via Sacred Bones records. We've partnered with the label for an exclusive variant on green and tan splatter vinyl that's limited to 300 copies. The 43-track, double vinyl gatefold set comes with a poster and full color inner sleeves. Pre-order yours now.

Here's a picture of our variant:


The Northman OST tracklist:
1. Approaching Hrafnsey
2. The King
3. Entering the Temple
4. Last Teardrop
5. Blood Tree
6. Strike, Brother
7. Escape
8. I Will Avenge You, Father
9. The Land of the Rus
10. A Burning Barn
11. Seeress
12. Raven's Omen
13. Storm At Sea / Yggdrasill
14. Iceland
15. I Will Save You, Mother
16. Slave Work
17. Guðrún
18. Follow The Vixen's Tail
19. He-Witch
20. Draugr
21. Mound Dweller
22. To The Games
23. Birch Woods
24. First Of Many
25. Trollish Sorcery
26. Svið Night, Part 1
27. Svið Night, Part 2
28. I Am Your Death
29. Come Morning
30. I Am His Vengeance
31. Óðinn
32. Valkyrie
33. Vestrahorn
34. Hidden Valley
35. Blood Tree, Part 2
36. Blóð Inside / I Choose Both
37. A Maiden King
38. The Wolf has Grown
39. The Gates of Hel / Slain by Iron
40. Hekla
41. Cut the Thread of Fate
42. Make Your Passage / Valhöll
43. Ættartré / End Credits


More From Brooklyn Vegan