Marfa, TX resident Rob Gungor has been making music under the name Wilderman for most of this decade. His first Wilderman album was 2013's Learn to Feel which was more of an analog rock record, where his upcoming Artifice is slightly more chilled out, with more of an emphasis on synths. (Guests include Andy Stack of Wye Oak and McKenzie Smith of Midlake.) With Gungor's emotive voice and the widescreen, rhythmic sonics, there's an early-'80s Peter Gabriel vibe going on here, as you can hear on album opener "Cog" which premieres in this post. Stream it below.

Artifice will be out April 20.

Wilderman - Artifice tracklist:
01. Cog
02. Nurture Nature
03. Sea Moan
04. Feel It
05. Stop The Noise
06. Loss of Now
07. Evidence
08. Now Reality
09. Sail Away
10. Open Space
11. Human Race