Willie Nelson

On [Country Music], produced by T Bone Burnett and due April 20 on Rounder, [Willie] Nelson delivers his distinctive, understated take on such classics as "Dark as a Dungeon," "Nobody's Fault but Mine," "My Baby's Gone" and "House of Gold."

"This is a group of songs that when they first came out, it didn't take them very long to become standards," Nelson says. "Just like 'Stardust,' 'Moonlight in Vermont,' 'All of Me' and 'Georgia' are considered standards, so are 'Dark as a Dungeon,' 'Freight Train Boogie,' 'Pistol Packin' Mama' and 'Satisfied Mind.' These are all standard songs from another field of music, but they are still the same category. They are just as good in their own way." [Reuters]

Willie Nelson will be celebrating the 4/20 release of the record with a special show on May 6th at Manhattan Center Grand Ballroom (a venue that's sort of small for him, as he has a show at Radio City scheduled for this July). The show will be "an all acoustic set of country and gospel songs". Tickets go on AmEx and Fanclub presale Wednesday at 10am. General sale starts Friday at 10am.

The album's cover is above. Lots more tour dates HERE. Tracklist is below...

'Country Music' tracklist
1. Man With The Blues
2. Seaman's Blues
3. Dark as a Dungeon
4. Gotta Walk Alone
5. Satan Your Kingdom Must Come Down
6. My Baby's Gone
7. Freight Train Boogie
8. Satisfied Mind
9. You Done Me Wrong
10. Pistol Packin' Mama
11. Ocean of Diamonds
12. Drinking Champagne
13. I Am a Pilgrim
14. House of Gold
15. Nobody's Fault But Mine

More From Brooklyn Vegan