Doom legend Scott "Wino" Weinrich (of Saint Vitus, The Obsessed, and other bands) has been doing a rustic cover of Joy Division's "Isolation" at his shows for years, and now that we're all living in isolation, he has released a studio recording of the cover.

"I have loved this song from the moment I heard it," Wino told Revolver. "I made a trade with one of my tenants in the early Obsessed house, Joe of Fugazi. I turned him on to [the Stooges'] Raw Power and he turned me on to Joy Division. The music they made is still some of the heaviest stuff ever. I have always been drawn to the more melancholic, darker music, and I have played this song live on acoustic from the start. This is my version."

The cover actually isn't just something Wino cooked up in quarantine; it's the lead single off his upcoming acoustic solo album Forever Gone, which comes out June 26 via Ripple Music (pre-order). Check out the artwork and tracklist (which includes some presumably new solo versions of songs Wino released on his collaborative albums with Conny Ochs) below.

Wino Forever Gone

1. Forever Gone
2. Taken
3. The Song's at the Bottom of the Bottle
4. No Wrong
5. Dark Ravine
6. Dead Yesterday
7. You're So Fine
8. Crystal Madonna
9. Lavender and Sage
10. Was Is and Shall Be
11. Isolation

More From Brooklyn Vegan