by Bill Pearis


Portland, OR's Woolen Men will release their new album, Temporary Monument, on September 4 by way of Woodsist. The impetus behind this one is a familiar topic in cities around the country:

Our hometown has been buried under an avalanche of condos and pointless businesses catering to the newly rich. Noise complaints shut down our shows and pull the plug on countless DIY venues. The places where we lived are being torn down; the rent keeps climbing up. Born too soon or too late, the recession's effect on our youth was as invisible as it it was profound.

Music today is rendered powerless -- white noise made in the echo chamber, for the great Smooth Face that gazes once and moves on. So here it comes, some noise from the dustbin. The internet is sham: Temporary Monument, we made it for ourselves. Look us in the eyes and tell us you're not getting old.

You can get a taste of Temporary Monument via the moody "After The Flood," which is anchored by minor-chord organ while bass roves deftly around it. Stream it below.

Woolen Men were last in NYC during Death by Audio's final month. No word on new tour dates just yet. Stay tuned.


Woolen Men - Temporary Monument tracklist
1. Clean Dreams
2. Life In Hell
3. Alien City
4. University
5. The Desert
6. After The Flood
7. Dissolving Man
8. Temporary Monument
9. Hard Revision
10. On Cowardice
11. The Wheel
12. Walking Out

More From Brooklyn Vegan