LA-based rapper YUNGMORPHEUS has announced a new album, From Whence It Came, coming on April 28 via Lex Records (pre-order). The upcoming album features contributions from Jimetta Rose, Quevin, Fly Anakin, MED, Judah, Ahwlee, Iojii, and Mary Lattimore. Check out the artwork and tracklist for From Whence It Came below.

YUNGMORPHEUS shared lead single "Layman's Terms" today, a soul-sampling track produced by Junie centered around Morpheus's understated, chilled-out flows. The song comes with a music video directed by Jackie Radinsky, which includes a visual preview of album track "Heavy Bags." Check it out below.

Alongside the album announcement and release of "Layman's Terms," YUNGMORPHEUS has shared plans for a co-headlining US tour with Fly Anakin this summer. They'll hit Atlanta, Chicago, L.A., Oakland, and more in early June. Tickets are available now.

YUNGMORPHEUS and Fly Anakin come to Brooklyn with special guest Chuck Strangers on June 2 at Public Records. Morpheus will also play a one-off show with Montreal producer Nicholas Craven on March 5 at Elsewhere Zone One. All dates below.

YUNGMORPHEUS, From Whence It Came

1. Where It Goes featuring Jimetta Rose
2. Self Sponsored
3. Escovitch Fish featuring Quevin
4. Near The Cell Towers
5. Cassava Bread featuring Fly Anakin
6. Hold Tighter // Don’t Mention It
7. What You Won’t Do featuring MED
8. For the Evening featuring Judah & Ahwlee
9. So It Goes
10. Heavy Bags
11. Playin’ the Same Game
12. Top Dog // Under Dog
13. Creme Brûlée
14. Layman's Terms
15. Fiya Hafif Bun featuring lojii
16. In the Water
17. Shattered Glass featuring Mary Lattimore
18. Free Form Cash (Shoutro)
19. Faded Memories

YUNGMORPHEUS & Fly Anakin -- 2023 Tour Dates
5/31 - Atlanta, GA @ 529 Club
6/1 - Chicago, IL @ Sleeping Village
6/2 - Brooklyn, NY @ Public Records *
6/3 - Easthampton, MA @ Daily Op
6/8 - Los Angeles, CA @ Resident
6/9 - Oakland, CA @ Eli’s Mile High Club
* = with Chuck Strangers

More From Brooklyn Vegan